The CCP exam costs US$575 if you are an ISACA member and US$760 if you are not. That registration fee is the largest single cost of becoming a CMMC Certified Professional, but it is not the only one. ISACA's 2026 candidate guide and CPE Policy also list an application fee, an extension fee, a rescore fee, an annual maintenance fee and a reinstatement fee. Here is every published fee, when you pay it, and what ISACA does not publish at all.
Every CCP fee at a glance
| Fee | Amount | When you pay it |
|---|---|---|
| Exam registration | US$575 (member) or US$760 (nonmember) | For every attempt |
| Six-month eligibility extension | US$75 | Only if you need more time; one allowed |
| Rescore request | US$75 | Only after a failed attempt, within 30 days of results |
| Certification application | US$200 | Once, after you pass |
| Annual maintenance fee | Not stated in the CPE Policy | Every year, by December 31 |
| Reinstatement after revocation | US$50 | Only if revoked for CPE noncompliance and reinstated after 60 days |
| The CCP class | Set by each training provider | Before the exam |
| Tier 3 background investigation | Not published | After you apply |
The exam fee: US$575 or US$760
The registration fee depends on your ISACA membership status at the time you register: US$575 for members and US$760 for nonmembers. It is nonrefundable and nontransferable.
The member price is US$185 lower on every attempt. The guide describes membership as giving "savings on ISACA products like certification exams", but it does not state what membership costs, so weigh the saving against the membership price ISACA quotes when you join.
One registration buys one attempt within a six-month eligibility window. Registration is continuous, and you can schedule a testing appointment as early as 48 hours after paying, at a PSI testing center or remotely proctored.
ISACA's CCP page is candid about the direction of travel: "Exam prices have increased, but annual renewal fees were lowered to offset the cost."
You pay the full fee for every attempt
The guide is explicit: "candidates must pay the registration fee in full for each exam attempt." You have four attempts within a rolling 12-month period, with a wait of 30 days after the first attempt, then 90 days after the second and 90 days after the third. The exam fees add up quickly:
| Attempts | Member | Nonmember |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | US$575 | US$760 |
| 2 | US$1,150 | US$1,520 |
| 3 | US$1,725 | US$2,280 |
| 4 | US$2,300 | US$3,040 |
A retake is the most expensive way to prepare. Practicing before you book, with the course's 1,166 questions in the exam's format and the first domain free with a free account, costs far less than a second registration.
Fees you can avoid
The US$75 extension. From the date you register, you have six months to take the exam. If you need more time, a six-month extension costs US$75. There is a maximum of one, it appears on your ISACA dashboard 30 days before and after your eligibility expires, and an exam that is already scheduled must be canceled at least 48 hours before its date to extend.
A forfeited registration. Your eligibility and registration fee are forfeited if you do not take the exam within the six months, if you miss your testing appointment, or if you are more than 15 minutes late for it. The fee must be paid in full before you can schedule and take an exam, so testing after a forfeit means registering, and paying, again.
The US$75 rescore. If you do not pass, you can ask for your exam to be rescored. PSI performs the rescore. The request goes in writing through ISACA's support page within 30 days of the release of results, with your name, ISACA ID number and mailing address, and a fee of US$75 must accompany each request.
After you pass: the US$200 application fee
Passing the exam does not make you a CCP. To be certified, you pay the US$200 application processing fee and submit an application that demonstrates the experience requirements, alongside the training, a Tier 3 determination and the ethics and CPE commitments. The guide gives you one year from passing the exam to apply. For comparison, the CCA's application fee is US$50.
The step-by-step guide, how to become a CCP, covers the application and the background investigation in full.
Keeping the certification: the annual fee and CPE
A CCP certification is valid for three years, and keeping it costs money every year. ISACA's CPE Policy requires you to:
- pay the annual certification maintenance fee. ISACA sends an invoice by email and in hard copy each year. The policy does not state the amount;
- pay and report CPE by December 31. "To retain certification, payment and reporting of CPE hours are due by December 31";
- earn 120 CPE hours in each three-year period, at least 90 of them aligned with the CCP exam content outline.
The courses, conferences and training you earn CPE hours from may have costs of their own.
Reinstatement. If your certification is revoked for not meeting the CPE Policy and you appeal for reinstatement after the revocation has been outstanding for more than 60 days, a reinstatement fee of US$50 applies. It is charged on top of any back or current maintenance fees, and for each certification revoked.
What ISACA says about the three-year total
ISACA publishes one worked comparison, for someone who holds both the CCP and the CCA: "three-year total costs for someone holding CCP and CCA were $3,175 with previous pricing. Those become $2,280 through ISACA and are reduced to $2,105 with ISACA membership."
ISACA does not break those totals down, so they cannot be split into exam fees, application fees and renewal fees without guessing. Read them as ISACA's own statement that, although exam prices rose, "total cost of ownership over the three-year cycle is very similar and, in some cases, substantially lower."
Costs ISACA does not set
Some costs sit outside ISACA's fee schedule, and no pinned document states them:
- The CCP class. It is mandatory, but each Approved Training Provider sets its own price.
- ISACA membership. It lowers the exam fee, but its price is not stated in the guide.
- The Tier 3 background investigation. The CMMC rule requires it; neither the rule nor the guide states a cost to the candidate.
- Getting to a test center. Optional, because the exam can be taken remotely proctored.
Any figure you see quoted for these is someone's estimate or one provider's price, not a program fee.
What it costs to certify: worked examples
These examples add up only the fees ISACA publishes: the registration, the extension and the US$200 application. They leave out the class, membership and the annual maintenance fee.
| Scenario | Member | Nonmember |
|---|---|---|
| Pass on the first attempt | US$775 | US$960 |
| Pass on the first attempt, after one extension | US$850 | US$1,035 |
| Pass on the second attempt | US$1,350 | US$1,720 |
| Pass on the third attempt | US$1,925 | US$2,480 |
How to keep the cost down
- Register when you are ready, not before. The six-month clock starts at registration, and the fee is nonrefundable.
- Do the membership arithmetic. It saves US$185 per attempt; set that against the membership price.
- Protect the appointment. More than 15 minutes late forfeits the fee.
- Prepare against the blueprint. Domains 4 and 5 are 60% of the exam between them. How hard is the CCP exam sets out a study plan by weight.
- Test yourself before you pay. The first domain is open in full with a free account, and full access costs a fraction of one registration.
By QualExam editorial. Written against the certifying body’s published documents, pinned by hash so a revised edition shows up as a change.